Proper fermentation temps

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EricS

Reaction score
This coming weekend I am planning on brewing a Belgian Strong Ale and a Weiss beer. Does anyone know of a list of fermentation temps for the different styles/yeasts? I have never done a Belgian before and am not sure about the correct temp. I found one place stating 65 degrees and another said between 70-75. Any help would be appreciated.

Belgian Strong Ale

Type: Extract w/grain
Size: 5 gallons
OG: 1.093
FG: 1.012
Alcohol: 10.4%

Grain:
2/3 lb. American crystal 60L
2/3 lb. Belgian CaraMunich
1/16 lb. Belgian chocolate
Boil: SG 1.154 3 gallons
12 lb. Light malt extract

Yeast:

Hops:
1 oz. Nugget, 50 min.
1 oz. Perle, 15 min.
2 oz. Fuggles aroma

This was given to me by the LHBS, I hope I got the grains right, his writing was pretty bad. Am I being to particular, do I really need to be worrying about the correct temp as long as I am around 70. A fellow HB told me today that he only worried about temp if it were a lager or trying to reproduce a clone.

Grain bill looks good, but I wouldn't add any aroma hops, there will be lots of esters and phenols from the yeast you don't need hop aroma. I would pitch the yeast at around 65F and allow it to rise during fermentation to around 76-78F. It's important to pitch on the cooler side because you want the yeast to grow without creating too many esters and fusels, this will give the beer a balance between maltiness and yeast derived flavors/aromas.