Help me! (which bottle do I need)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bhambrewer

Reaction score
I want to try a carbonated cider. Not champagne style, but I would like a good deal of carbonation.

First off, I am a college student, and cost effectiveness is essential.
I found a local business who will give me their wine bottles for free.

All I would need to do is buy a corker and corks (can corks be reused?), which is fine.

Can a wine bottle hold the carbonation? Or do I need a champagne bottle (read that wine bottles cannot hold carbonation or something?).

:confused::confused::confused:What bottles do I want? :confused::confused::confused:

Also:
Lets say the wine bottles work. How will I know when they reach proper carbonation? Will I have to uncork each bottle to check carbonation?

Don't use wine bottles. They are not meant to hold carbonation, nor are wine corks. Use beer bottles and caps. Or, use sparkling wine bottles, most of which can accept normal crown caps.

Ok I can do that.

Are there any bigger (750ml) size bottles that I can use, or do I need to break it up into the smaller beer bottles?

Thank you for your help!

Would used beer bottles work? Like lets say I drank a 12 pack of Budweiser. If I cleaned and sanitized the bottles, would those work?

Thanks again for all the help! This is why I love this fourm

Yes, but most bud bottles are twist off's now. You can re-cap them but you would have to use a bench capper, not a wing capper.

Your best bet would to bottle in pop top bottles like sam adams or any other craft beer bottle.