The question you may not want to answer :D

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
That's MicroBrew Belly to you! About 15 pounds and it's smaller than it was when I started homebrewing.

Denny's Brew said:
So.. How big is your beer gut and did you notice a signifigant increase in belly size once you started home brewing beer vs purchasing beer? :eek: :D
Mine's big enough that I had SWMBO get me some new shirts, in XXL, and I've never been anything bigger than an L in my life. :eek: I never bought much beer before I started brewing, so my expansion is all due to homebrew and storebought stuff for research purposes. :D

Mine is a little bigger, but not just due to drinking homebrew. I have been eating too much lately, but have been back on the healthy eating wagon the past 2 weeks. I wonder how many calories your average homebrew has compared to, say, a Miller Lite?

mmditter said:
Mine is a little bigger, but not just due to drinking homebrew. I have been eating too much lately, but have been back on the healthy eating wagon the past 2 weeks. I wonder how many calories your average homebrew has compared to, say, a Miller Lite?

weel, figure a Doppelbock has about 380 calories a bottle, then about 220 probably?

i used to way 265 lbs, ( i'm a little over 6'3") worked it down to 185 (way too skinny!) then leveled off at 210. rather be about 195-200, but i eat right, exercise 5-7 times week, and try, TRY, to only drink on the weekends. the holidays are always tuff, so i gained a few due to too much rich food + heavy winter brews. got to get fit for spring! :D

and i had stopped brewing and drinking all together when i went down to 185. no booze for almost 6 months.

I don't blame beer for my belly, I blame marriage!