Cucumber Wine Taste

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jogomez

Reaction score
I am new at brewing, but because I have lots of fruit to harvest from my back yard amd trying wines... so far I have blueberry wine, red grape wine, peach wine, and cucumber wine going. All taste good except cucumber.

The cucumber wine has good color (kind of yellowish/greenish) but it is too bitter for my taste. Is that how it should be? If I add lots of sugar will it get less bittery or will it just ferment the sugar again?

Thanks for any tips...

btw-the recipe I used is as follows:

4 pounds cucumbers
3 campden tablets
2 oranges
2 lemons (I used lime instead)
7 cups sugar
pectic enzyme
nutrients
1 package wine yeast
water

Wash cucumbers. Leave skin on. Chop cucumbers and place in primary fermentor. (I used the food processor to slice the cukes real thin)

Wash oranges and lemons. Slice thinly and add to cucumbers (again used the food processor to slice). Stir in sugar and nutrients.

Pour 16 cups boiling water over mixture. Stir to dissolve sugar. Let cool. Add pectic enzyme.

The next day, check specific gravity -- it should be between 1.090 and 1.100. Add yeast. Stir daily for five days, until frothing stops.

Strain. Siphon into secondary fermentor and attach airlock.

Could be due to the cucumbers themselves being bitter. I've gotten cucumbers from the grocery store that when sliced for a salad were so bitter as to be inedible. I've been told that a cold snap, even a short/mild one, during growing can turn cukes bitter.
Also, the skin has a certain bitterness to it, I'd have peeled them before fermenting.