My DIY Tap Handle Build Thread (Steel)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

92greenyj

Reaction score
Hi gang.
So I decided it was high time I made my own tap handles instead of using my boring, generic black ones with a gold plate for labels. I wanted them to be the same length as a standard handle and have the ability to quickly and easily change the labels out depending on what I have on tap. Now I'm not much of a woodworker, Steel is generally my medium of choice and i'm a decent welder. So I took some measurements and headed off to my local steel supplier (IMS, Industrial Metal Supply) to find what I wanted. As usual IMS did not dissapoint.

I bought
10 feet of 1/2" square twisted steel
10 feet of 3" x 1/8" flat plate (didnt need that much but I know i'll use the extra at some point)
and 12 Half Inch "Spears"
I also swung by the local comic shop and bought a pack of 25 hard plastic top loading baseball card protector sleeves.
I already have a healthy supply of 3/8" Nuts on hand as I use 3/8" hardware all the time on my Jeep (32 bolt beadlocks on each wheel alone)

So when I got my supplies home, first thing I did was cut my bars down to length. I cut the twisted bar to 10"s and the flat plate to 4"s (The card holders are 3" wide by 4" long)

IMGP2603.jpg

IMGP2605.jpg

I made 12 handles total. 8 for my Keezer and 4 for my Jockey box.

The next step was to weld the spears onto the top of each bar

IMGP2613.jpg

Then I welded the card holder backing plates to the speared bars

IMGP2614.jpg

IMGP2616.jpg

The next step was the hard part. welding the 3/8" nuts to the bases of my handles

IMGP2616.jpg