Staying above the Trub line when racking to secondary

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm new at this and did my first brew last week. When racking over to the secondary how can I be sure to stay above the trub when siphoning it off? When I did this Sunday I notice in 2 areas I clearly hit bottom when transfering it over to the secondary. The beer was an American Pale Ale and was really dark. Or does this even matter? Thanks for the help

First question is: why did you secondary? Presumably the answer is you read instructions that told you to. As you will soon learn, unless you're dealing with long bulk conditioning or unusual dry-hopping you're probably better off not racking to a secondary at all. That having been said, if you do rack, you'll try to get all of the clear wort without any of the trub. Human nature being what it is, few of us will have the discipline to leave a bit of the clear beer behind, and we'll get a bit of the trub. Not a big deal at all. Don't worry. And search this forum for threads that WILL persuade you to rack your beer to secondary only rarely.

I just racked my Brewers Best APA from secondary to keg yesterday. The Brewers best recommends secondary fermentation for APA to clear the beer. I had quite a bit of fall-out during the secondary.

Pilgarlic, I have read many posts here but don;t recall many recomendations against secondary. I'm new to brewing, and was just following the instructions and recomendations from my LHBS.