Why 6 gallons? Can I brew less?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gyc

Reaction score
Hi all.

I'm an absolute beginner and I'm trying to learn a bit before my first brew.

Question:
All the kits I've found, all the ready-made malts and most recepies are aimed at brewing 6 gallons (us gallons).
Is there a bio-chem-physical reason for that amount of beer?
Can I try and only brew, say, 1 gallon?

I've already noticed that - although the process is fairly simple - there are a number of details to pay attention to.
I'd hate to brew that much beer only to discover that I scr***d something in the process :mad: and have to throw it away. It would break my heart :drunk: ... not to mention the cost and the space it takes right at start, of course.

Am I being too careful (some could say 'chicken')?
Any suggestions?

All of the kits I have made have been 5 gallon kits. What manufacturer of kits are you using for your brews?

What area are you from? You may wish to edit you profile to note that so you can get more information from members here. I am also new to the forum and wish you well and Welcome.

Salute! :mug:

Thanks for answering.

I have yet to buy the hardware and start brewing, but I searched in eBay and google.

Take a look at this example. It's just one of many.

THe kits are for 5 or 5.5 gallon batches, but many of us also brew 2.5 gallon batches as well...

Us the search with the keywords "small batch brewing" or "2.5 gallon batches" an you will find plenty of info...there's at least one thread on it a week on here...

Do yourself a favor and just say 'to hell with the 5 gallon batches!'