First time making a lager need input

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Snyder

Reaction score
Got a Munich Helles kit and need some help on how to ferment correctly. Yeast is Brewferm Lager. Directions say to move primary to stable area approx 48-58 degrees. My question is: should I primary in basement(ambient temp. 65 and stable), or in the garage(attached garage with highs this week 40 & lows 30 degrees)? If I did it in the basement I could make a swamp cooler with a muck bucket with some ice. My big concern is keeping the temperature constant the whole time? Any help would be great! Also I only have a ale pail and a bottling bucket. There's no reason I can't primary in my bottling bucket and secondary in my ale pale is there?

I am no lager expert (made my first in September - a bock), but I fermented mine in my garage. I got hold of two of those big styrofoam coolers that they send Omaha steaks out in. I put my fermenter in one and put the other over the top. I filled the bottom with about 6 inches of water. I could put one chunk of ice from a 1 gal ice cream bucket in about every twelve hours and it kept the temp in the cooler at 51. So before work in went an ice block and when I got home in went another. My garage stayed in the 70s most of that time. I was happy. I had a 6 gal fermenting bucket and a 5 gallon bottling bucket I used for years with good success.

Whatever you have to do to keep your primary fermentation temperature stable at around 48-50°F, do it. Despite what the packet states, it's better to keep it at the low end of the range. Then for lagering, ideally you want around 33°F, but within reason, this temperature isn't as crucial to keep stable as primary fermentation.