First Time Brewing anything, not just cider

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gerrg

Reaction score
Hey folks, I'm new here and I'm also new to brewing. A buddy that I worked with got me interested in homebrew and this will be my first of many attempts at making my own tasty alcoholic beverages.

I tried my friend’s cider and really liked it so I'm going to start with that (plus it looks easier than beer) I just want to run my plan by everyone and make sure I'm doing everything correctly. Here are the ingredients:

5 Gallons TreeTop Apple Juice
1 lb Light Brown Sugar
1 Can Juicy Juice Apple Juice Concentrate
1 Packet of Dry Ale Yeast

So here's the plan:
Pour three gallons of apple juice into a stock pot
Bring up to about 130 degrees
Add brown sugar and concentrate and stir until dissolved.
Pour all ingredients into primary fermentation bucket, except for yeast
Let cool till 70-80 degrees
Add yeast
Place lid and air lock on bucket
Let ferment for 7-10 days (until the bubbles stop)
Move to secondary fermentation (carboy)
***Not sure how long to leave in there***
Move to bottling bucket and then bottle

The yeast I have is Windsor brewing yeast. Is there a certain way to add the yeast or just dump it in the juice when it cools to 70-80 degrees? Also, there was something I was to make sure the juice didn't have (I haven’t gotten that yet). I know there preservatives, but I'm not sure which ones. I want to say it was sorbates and something else. Anyone have any advice or changes to my plan? Any and all help is greatly appreciated (and probably needed) Thanks, and I look forward to taking part in this site.

peace
-gw