Real wort starter question?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

frod1963

Reaction score
Brewed a 1.060 SG IPA today and made a Real wort starter with WLP001. This is my first attempt at this as I ran out o time yesterday, but not my first starter. How long should I let this thing ferment out 8, 16, 24 hours? I normally leave my starters on the stirplate for 24 hours? Thanks in advance

Are you pitching it in the batch you made the starter from, or are you pitching it in a different batch? You probably already know this, but your are supposed to pitch your starters into wort about 1040. You don't want to stress out the yeast. Maybe next time add some boiled and cooled water to bring the gravity down?

I usually listen to the yeast, they tell me when they are ready to pitch.

seriously though, once the krauzen starts to fall but there is still plenty of activity, I pitch. This was 16 hours on my last brew with a RWS and I don't dilute, it's the same beer.

Sorry. I'm pitching into the same IPA. I'm sure many of you know how it is, 2 year old and 2 month old don't allow much preparation for things. I've got the beer sitting at 66 in the fermentation chamber so I guess I'll pitch after about 12 hours. I should have known the yeast would tell me what to do.
Oops. The pic is of a spontaneous fermentation experiment. Wrong thread.

image-2274220990.jpg

I guess I'm confused of the point of RWS?