Early/Late Extract Additions in PM Brewing?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nickmv

Reaction score
So, I've been brewing for 2 years now, and I've been doing partial mashes for a while, but somehow I've missed an entire concept in the process:

EARLY/LATE EXTRACT ADDITIONS

So, what's up with this in relation to hop utilization? I've been doing full boils for a while, and I dump all my DME in after sparging, and then add a tad bit of hot water to make sure I'm at my correct pre-boil volume. Then I go through the full boil as normal.

I have yet to notice anything weird about my beer. I brewed a Citra IPA recently and the color was perfect, wasnt real dark (ie. carmelization) and I didn't notice anything weird with the hop flavor.

Anyways, I'm brewing a Pecan Brown Porter when I get home from work today, and I'm wondering: should I change my methods? What gives with this early/late addition strategy? Any diff in taste? Any carmelization I imagine would be hard to notice in a porter, or it would complement it.

From my experience, LME has a much higher tendency for this carmelazation. If you use DME then I don't believe it has as much of an effect. Hop utilization is affected by the gravity of the boil. If you used just water you would get more significant utilization. Overall if you're making good beer then don't change your methods. If you notice problems and are unhappy then make a change, but I say don't change a good thing