Something I have never done before. Need advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

naeco

Reaction score
In the past 2 years, I have been making cider that I always ferment to complete dryness and I back sweeten with Xylitol or Splenda. I can't stand that artificial taste anymore so I want to make a sweet cider and If I decide I want it carbed, I will by a keg system as I will never use the Papers easy pasteurizing method again ... this **** is dangeeeeeerous !

My question is when do you recommend I stop fermentation using potassium sorbate and campden tablets if I want a sweet cider "a la" Honeybees or Strongbow(1.014+-?) and what are the procedure?

If my plan is to have a quite high initial gravity to end up with a sweet 10% cider(wine) and I will wait for it to clear before I bottle. Once bottled, how long do you think I will have to wait before I can drink them as with my completely dry cider, I feel the taste is not good until they have aged for one year but since this cider will not be bone dry, I wonder it it would be sooner ? ... the 10% ABV might play against me here ?

thanks,

Naeco

It's pretty difficult to stop an active fermentation. If I was to stop one I would:

1. Rack onto sorbate/campden in new vessel, careful not to siphon any of the yeast cake (despite all the yeast in suspension). This will remove quite a lot of nitrogen which is needed for healthy yeast. (Look up a process called 'keeving')
2. Cold crash after you feel the campden and sorbate has had time to evenly distribute throughout the brew.