Idea for a Pineapple Mango Mead, need all the help I can get.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Omnium

Reaction score
So I've lurked around, finally joined.
Here's what got me started on this. Lipton makes this Pineapple Mango Green Tea & Honey instant mix, and I cant get enough of the stuff.
But thinking along those lines with the honey, it sparked my interest into making a mead with pineapple, mango, and maybe some green tea.

I'm very new to this, I have a little wine making knowledge from helping my father do it for enough years, and have avid homebrewers for friends, but Ive never started it up myself.

So anyone wanna help me out with a recipe, or guide me into the right direction? I really want this thing bursting with sweet flavor.
Thanks!

I think I will answer in steps:

1. Tea - lots of folks add a few cups of strong brewed tea for flavor and tannins. I see no problems here.

2. Mango and pineapples - I would ferment just honey to dryness in primary, then I think I would add the fruit in secondary after primary fermentation is finished. This will avoid pH drops and provide more of the intense flavor you are looking for. After secondary is finished, you can backsweeten and stabilize as you desire.

I've recently discovered a starter of Wyeast 1388 with SNAs and potassium carbonate will yield mead ready in a month. It also produces fruity esters that would compliment this type of mead!

Pineapple wines/meads have a reputation for easily being rocket fuel needing a lot of aging to mellow out. So I agree with loveofrose. I would say make a base mead and then rack that on top of the flavors you want. A base mead for this based off of some of what loveofrose has mentioned would be:

1 gallon base mead