American Brown Ale 2ndary fermentation time

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bball3414

Reaction score
This is my first time posting on here!

I brewed a batch of American Brown Ale about 10 days ago. I've had it in my secondary fermenter now since saturday 12/18. I was wondering how long i should leave it in there for before I bottle?
The only caveat is that I am traveling from the 23rd through the 27th. If i do not bottle until the 28th, it would essentially be the the secondary for 10 days. Will this be a problem? Is it better for the beer even?

Also, once I do bottle, how long should I let the bottles sit. I would imagine at least two weeks to carbonate and develop some more flavors.

Thanks!

10 days in secondary will not be detrimental. A recipe calling for as much as three weeks in secondary would not be out of the ordinary. It helps the beer clarify.

At least two weeks in the bottle. You can start drinking at that point, though the beer will generally improve with more time.

Note that many homebrewers see using a secondary as optional. You can just leave the beer to condition in the primary for 2-3 weeks, then bottle. Secondaries are good for huge beers that need months of conditioning before bottling, or for things like dry-hop or fruit additions.

thats interesting about keeping it in the primary for 2-3 weeks. I thought I had read somehwere that the yeast that collect in the bottom (the trub??) could damage the beer if left there too long.

Most of the reading that I have done say leave in the primary for 2 to 4 weeks. I think the off flavors would come from leaving it on the trub for more then 4 weeks.

Scott