Primary only fermentation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Medved

Reaction score
It is day 5, and my brew has reached its end specs. I was thinking I would only do one fermenter since it is my first time and it limits my ability to screw up. I have heard many people leave their brew in fermentation for a couple weeks, but is that only when doing a secondary? I am waiting on a spigot I ordered to make a bottling bucket to arrive in a couple days, so hopefully I would be able to wait that long at least. Or should I go to a secondary container if I am going to let it sit?

Yeah, that's fine and the new normal. The idea of racking early has faded once it was found out the short contact time doesn't amount to much anything and the O2 exposure from an additional rack just hurts.

Agreed. You're way more likely to screw up your beer by transferring to a secondary than you are to get any perceivable benefit. Most brewers skip the secondary now and leave the beer in primary for a few days after fermentation is complete, to allow the yeast to clean up after themselves before going to sleep.

If that picture you posted on Saturday is anything to go by, I'd leave it at the very absolute least for another week or 3... it's very cloudy, or is it supposed to be like that? Skip the secondary, but time is your new best friend. Well after you've reached your FG, a lot of clean-up still goes on, not the least of which is the clearing while everything settles to the bottom. You can drink it early, but it'll likely taste way better if you wait longer.