Recipe Confusion

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jonasschnur

Reaction score
I'm new to brewing and so far have been using kits. I've decided to try to get away from kits and followed a recipe from The Brewmaster's Bible for Bavarian Wheat beer (found on page 208 if you have the book). I went to my local brewing supply store and bought the ingredients (1/2 pound light crystal malt, one 4 pound can of ALexander's pale malt extract, two 1.5 pound cans of Alexander's wheat "kicker", 2 ounces boiling hops, 1/2 teaspoon irish moss, 1 package wyeast 3056 bavarian wheat liquid yeast, and 1/4 cup corn sugar for priming) and when I sat down and read the actual instructions I came to a part that says, "when you're ready to brew, put the crushed grain mix into one of the boiling bags, tie off the top of the bag and put it into the biggest stainless steel or enameled pot you can find. Add water to the pot, leaving space for malt (approx 3/4) of a gallon and a couple inches at the top for boil. Apply heat" So my question is what is the crushed grain mix? Its not in the ingredients list and it isn't mentioned in the introductory section, only in the procedures section. Is there something else I need to buy? Thanks for your help

That's your 1/2 lb of crystal malt. In this case since there's only one grain it's not a "mix", but I assume these are generic instructions.

Edit: Hopefully you had them crush it for you? If not you're going to need to do that. Really best to get it properly milled but you can try the rolling pin thing in a pinch (I tried that exactly once many yrs ago and never made the mistake again). ;)