Brewing light beer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ejhkull

Reaction score
Does anyone know if there is a way to brew a light calorie beer? I have basic equipment and knowledge of how to brew, but I'm starting to get fat!!!

Reduce your grains/malts, to be around a 4% alc content. I do extract only and have done a couple English Milds. I steep around a 1/2 to 3/4 lbs of grains and use a 3.3 can of LME and 1lb of DME with some hops. According to Beer Calculas I'm around the 110 calorie mark. Want it lower? Eliminate the steeping grains or a pound of malt. But would you want to drink it then?

Drink good beer.Fat and happy is better then thin and mich ultra.

Unfermented sugar is a serious calorie contributor. The best way to make a lite beer, IMO, is to brew something very basic and crush up beano tablets into the fermenter.

Miller Lite clone

Found this recipe in one of the books that I have.
SWMBO asked me to brew it once.
But personaly I would never brew it, as I think it would be a lot cheeper to buy at the Store.

Ingredients

2.00 lb Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 36.4 %
1.75 lb Corn, Flaked (1.3 SRM) Grain 31.8 %
1.75 lb Pale Malt (6 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 31.8 %
0.50 oz Cluster [7.00%] (60 min) Hops 15.1 IBU
0.25 tsp Irish Moss (Boil 10.0 min) Misc
0.50 tsp Amylase Enzyme (Primary 3.0 days) Misc
1 Pkgs Pilsen Lager (Wyeast Labs #2007) Yeast-Lager

Notes

65 degrees add yeast
ferment 4-6 days in primary at 50 degrees
transfer to secondary and add disolved amylase enzyme
maintain 50 degrees for 2 weeks
then larger one more week at 40 degrees

Unfermented sugar is a serious calorie contributor. The best way to make a lite beer, IMO, is to brew something very basic and crush up beano tablets into the fermenter.

+1.