*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Racking to secondary - too short autosiphon

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2013, 04:51 PM   #1
Zero0
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Racking to secondary - too short autosiphon

So I just started brewing last week. Beer has been fermenting for a week and I need to rack it to my secondary. My problem: My store sold me a too short autosiphon, it does not even go halfway down into my 25L glass carboy.

What other way is there to transfer my beer into my secondary vessel? Earliest I can get a bigger autosiphon is next Friday, which is a bit late in my opinion.

Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2013, 04:54 PM   #2
brewinchef_fairfax
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts

Just put the carboy on a chair and raise it up to the right level.. Then get a longer hose for next time.

Old 02-18-2013, 04:58 PM   #3
Cbaddad
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 105 Times on 73 Posts
Likes Given: 56

It won't be too late. Many guys here leave their beer in primary either the whole time or for at least 3 weeks.

If you really must rack it, waiting until Friday will not make a difference.

Just to understand: it is the tubing coming off the autosiphon that is short right? You can also just go to the hardware store to get some other tubing. Get 4 feet of it and you won't have a problem.

Old 02-18-2013, 05:06 PM   #4
Zero0
Recipes 

My carboy is 55cm tall and the autosiphon only 33cm (the hard plastic part), tubing is long enough. I guess I'll wait till Friday, hope the beer isn't infected after messing around with it. Thanks for the advice.

Old 02-18-2013, 11:54 PM   #5
brewinchef_fairfax
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts