New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > I've had same off flavor with first 3 brews, thinking of using secondary?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2011, 06:24 PM   #1
markiemark
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 2

Default I've had same off flavor with first 3 brews, thinking of using secondary?

Hi all,

I've brewed 4 different batches of brews so far, all partial mash, and each time I feel like I can taste a distinct flavor, even though they were all different beers (brown ale, cream ale, bavarian hef, and a holiday spiced ale). I can't tell what this off flavor is, as I am new to homebrewing, but its a distinct sort of fruitiness/spice perhaps?? I typically brew and leave in primary for 4 weeks, then straight to bottling bucket and bottle. I am wondering if the off flavor is from the beer sitting on the yeast the whole time. I want to correct this (or attempt to) so thinking of using a secondary (glass carboy) this time. I also plan on dry hopping. It's been in primary for a week, and has reached final gravity (at least what the IPA kit I bought said should be FG of 1.019)

Think this is a good idea? Might work? Give it a shot?

One more question, if I do this, my primary has a spigot, but when I went to check FG some trub/yeast (a fair amount) came out with the beer. Should I use a racking cane instead of spigot? Any tricks to getting as much beer out without grabbing the funky stuff?

Thanks!!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-02-2011, 06:30 PM   #2
HItransplant
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Two theories: 1-beer is green; 2-fermenting too warm.

What is your fermentation temp?

How long in primary?

How long in bottle?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdWort View Post
It's a gentle recipe, so your first time will be enjoyable and memorable. :D

Old 11-02-2011, 06:32 PM   #3
Brewkowski

Recipes