Extract beer taste similar debugging help?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fermenter

Reaction score
Hello!

First thank you all so much for your help with brewing, I have been trolling these forums for a few months now and have learned much that I am now implementing in my future beer brews.

I have an issues I would really like some advice about, I just tasted my second batch of beer and it tastes well almost like my first batch... the best way to describe it like mineral water and or kinda "thin..." (especially the sweet stout) with almost no nose at all to them? not bad, drinkable but strange.

Batch1:
http://www.northernbrewer.com/documentation/beerkits/HoneyBrown.pdf
Primary 10 days, secondary 2 weeks, 3 weeks bottle, 48 hours in fridge before tasting.

Batch2:
http://www.northernbrewer.com/documentation/beerkits/SweetStout.pdf
Primary 3 weeks, no secondary, 2.8 weeks bottle, 12 hours fridge before tasting.

Both I used liquid yeast (no starter...) oh and I use starSan. These beers should be very different.

Does anyone have an idea where I could have went wrong? After reading these forums I know (or think I know) that I did the following two items wrong with both batches.

1) Used Distilled water (thought it was spring water at the time...).
2) My fermentations temps start at about 66 but creep up to about 73 perhaps 74.

I am thinking that the fermentation (although close to what the yeast can handle) is my issue; the fact that it may be to hot. Can I get any conformation or ideas about my issue?

Thank you so much for your time!

Liquid yeast needs a starter, every time, every strain. No exceptions. If you don't want to make a starter use dry yeast.