Out of ideas - flat beer from keg

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brew_mama

Reaction score
I have researched my issue to death and have tried most of the fixes to no avail. This is my first time to keg and I got a new 2.5g corny keg and new CO2 tank and regulator, all new disconnects and lines and here is my problem.

I brewed a vanilla cream ale and kegged it almost three weeks ago. I wanted to do the set and forget method so I set the pressure to 12 psi after sealing the lid. Mini fridge is set at 40 degrees. After a week I tried it and it was flat despite a head on the beer so I gave it another week. Tasted it and it was still flat. I was using 5' of 3/16 ID line with a picnic tap. I did the soapy water method to check for leaks and didn't find any. I fiddled with the pressure, turning it up to 20 for a couple of days and then turning it down to 8. I also got a 10' serving line and a few days ago, with the pressure set at 8 and the new 10' line on there, I poured a small glass and tasted it and thought it was well carbed and thought I had fixed things. Then later that night I poured a couple of pints and again it was flat tasting despite plenty of head.

Am I missing something or not doing something right? I'm super frustrated because this beer is good and I want to enjoy it and I want the kegging process to work since it is so much easier than bottling. I have watched countless YouTube videos and it seems so simple but what am I doing wrong?

Sorry to read of your travails, @brew_mama.