Is Crystal/Caramel Wheat Malt fermentable?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JonBrew

Reaction score
Hi,

I was planning a weizenbock style beer but when I visited my LHBS they were totally out of wheat malt. In it's place the guy recommended Crystal Wheat. It is obviously a much darker malt but that wasnt really an issue seeing as i was brewing a weizenbock anyway. I was, however, concerned about the level of fermentables i could extract from this kind of malt. The guy at the LHBS assured me it would be fine and would produce a rich and full bodied beer. I am relatively new to brewing to, in the moment, i bowed to his superioir knowledge and took the crystal wheat.

However, this is playing on my mind. when i put the numbers into my recipie software it looks fine but surely this malt will not produce the same level of fermentable sugars? Bearing in mind that this makes up over 50% of my grain bill i am concerned this is going to screw up my beer.

Can anyone advise?

Thanks

Sorry but a lpt of what you get out of crystals is not fermentable and using this malt at 50% of the grain bill is unwise as the beer will end up being cloying sweet from unfermentable sugars. Crystals should be limited to the teens, max. He misled you.

Crystal malts are essentially precooked, having had their starches converted at the plant. What you extract from them is pre-prepared sugars of varying complexity , with some being fermentable and others not. Mashing them is unnecessary, but I recall ready some tests done that some additional conversion can be had... fairly moot though.

I will have to find it, but I recall some one did an experiment and it was somewhat fermentable. Def more than 50% I will try to find it and report back