New guy from Alabama

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

forcera

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm Richard Force form Birmingham, Alabama. I have been lurking around for a while, but I'm finally getting around to posting.

I just graduated from Auburn University back in May with a BS in Economics, but now I work in health care...go figure, I'm just happy to have a job.

I started brewing while I was in college (1 year or so). I got a Mr. Beer kit for my birthday one year and started with that. I think it was a good way to get started in the hobby because you can learn the steps in a fairly fool proof way. Not to mention I have two 2.5 gallon fermentation vessels now. I can brew a batch and then pitch two different kinds of yeast to see/taste the difference. I have moved up to a bigger operation now. Pretty standard five gallon batch set up. I'm still doing mostly extract brews, but once I get my own place (living with parents for the time being to save up money for my own place) I will more than likely start doing all grain brews.

Craziest brew so far is a smoked beer that I need to bottle right now (went to do it yesterday but I was out of sanitizer). I smoked the grains my self, and after raking it over to the secondary it tasted pretty damn good.

I mostly like the darker beer, stouts/porters, but I have never met a beer that I would not a least try.

I'm also a member for Free the Hops, Alabama's grassroots gourmet beer group. We just got the laws in the state changed to allow beers over 6% ABV. Now we can get beers up to 13.9% ABV, but nothing over 16 oz in a single serving.

From the luking I have done there seems to be a lot of good info so here, so I hope to learn a lot.:mug::mug::mug: