Wine Process

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chazwel

Reaction score
OK, where do I start? I bought some wine making equipment off of Craigslist. The guy already had some batches going so instead of pour out, I took it. I am new to the wine making process, I am thinking what do I need to do to make sure I am not wasting my time with these (2) 5 gallon batches of wine?

Any help is appreciated, I am ready to start making my own wine and have been reading until I am confused.

:rockin:

What wines did you acquire with the equipment purchase? I assume they are still in the carboys?

It'd probably be helpful to know a few more details. Type (as requested already) and what stage in the process they're currently at. Are they bulk aging, still fermenting, in a bucket or carboy?

All these are questions folks would have, plus more. So, any details you can give will be helpful. Otherwise you're just gonna get shots in the dark as to what you should do.

Thanks for the replies.............

Both are Reds, they are in a carboy and at the beginning stages. I am not sure what the stages are called. Sorry.

I really do not want to just throw them out but need to know if I need to and not waste time.

Thanks for the help.

What variety?
Were they kits or pressed from grapes?
Clear or cloudy?
Thick layer of sediment?
Did he give you his notes on them?
How do they smell?
Do the airlocks have enough liquid in them?
Did he say why he was willing to part with ten gallons of wine?