Dispensing Wine from a Keg

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Closet Fermenter

Bottle in front of me over frontal lobotomy
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I’ve been kegging my wine for a couple years now. My only option has been dispensing it with CO2. My procedure has been to use the inline valve to just put a short burst of CO2; just enough to push the wine out a party tap into a bottle. Whether I fill one, or multiple bottles, I try to work it where the pressure approaches nil as the filling is completed. I vent any remaining pressure with the prv.

Recently, I got a great deal on Craigslist on a brand new, unused, nitrogen tank and regulator. I’m not sure what I need to ask the gas vendor for. Recently, somewhere on HBT, I saw a comment that wine should be dispensed with beer gas, the N/CO2 blend, and not pure nitrogen. However, looking online at the gas vendors beverage gas page, it says that they have CO2, beer gas, and nitrogen for dispensing wine. So now I am confused.

Should I ask for beer gas or nitrogen? I have not used this vendor before, but it is a lot closer than the brew supply store where I have been exchanging my CO2 bottles. I don’t think they do the beer gas or nitrogen exchange.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Any still wines (red or white) should be dispensed with 100% nitrogen or argon. Only sparkling wines should be put on CO2.

For me, it is rare to find a homebrew supply that actually offered beer gas or nitrogen. I use a gas supplier like Matheson or AirGas when I need a refill/swap.

Any still wines (red or white) should be dispensed with 100% nitrogen or argon. Only sparkling wines should be put on CO2.