Smoked rye porter recipe, opinions wanted

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HollisBT

Reaction score
So, since I have very little experience with using roasted grains, I thought I would ask you guy's oppinions on how this recipe looks. So far, this is what I have:

9# 2-row malt
3# rye malt
3# smoked malt
12oz chocolate wheat malt
12oz crystal 80

It looks like the color and the gravity are right where they need to be (5 gallon batch, by the way), but is that little bit of chocolate and crystal going to give me a nice roasty flavor that I am looking for? Again, any input is appreciated here, as I have little to no experience brewing something that is darker than pale lol. TIA!!

It will be nicely roasty but not overpowering, In fact it looks like an excellent recipe.
What kind of smoked malt are you using? The rauchbock I'm drinking right now was brewed with 5 pounds of homesmoked malt for a 10 gallon batch, but that malt was very fresh.

Thanks for that :). I'll just be using smoked malt from rebel brewers website. Hops are still undetermined though...

For yeast I was planning on using the California ale V (wlp-051 if I recall) to ferment. Should I plan on getting a London ale yeast instead or should this yeast be fine? I wanted to use the yeast that I just washed, but I suppose I could buy a new one if I need to.

Which smoked Malt you use is important. If you buy the cheapest from Rebel Brewer and make your recipe, you will be very disappointed. The beer will be .... not sure what .... just too much, and you will be waiting years for it to mellow.

I've used Weyermann, Briess and peat Smoked malt in Porters and made great beers with each. Here are my comments on your recipe using them:

- 3 lbs of Weyermann will be good.