Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Fementation freezer setting w/ STC 1000 controller
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-21-2012, 01:49 PM   #1
logdrum
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: North Olmsted, Ohio
Posts: 820
Liked 42 Times on 38 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Default Fementation freezer setting w/ STC 1000 controller

OK, I've got my 7.0 GE chest freezer up & running, controlled by an STC 1000 w/ a lamp on the hot side (much thanks to the great threads detailing wiring, builds etc.). All seems fine, wort is holding steady, I'd just like to know what setting I should leave the freezer itself on, in order to lessen compressor cycling & hopefully lengthen the lifespan of the freezer? Right now it's on about 2.5 (out of 7). I've searched through the threads, read most of them & can't seem to find the answer. Also, how should I set the parameters of the STC, specifically F2 & F3? Thanks.

__________________
logdrum is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2012, 01:59 PM   #2
Nagorg
If a frog had wings...
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Nagorg's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: , Texas
Posts: 526
Liked 54 Times on 43 Posts
Likes Given: 27

Default

I wouldn't think the freezer's thermostat setting would really matter much since the STC 1000 has taken it's place. I have mine set on the coldest setting I could assuming if it were too high, it might turn the compressor off before the STC 1000 cut power.

__________________
Nagorg is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2012, 03:44 PM   #3
jubelale
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 70
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

F2 and F3 } 0.3 and 10 is what mine are set at.

__________________
jubelale is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2012, 04:00 PM   #4
logdrum
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: North Olmsted, Ohio
Posts: 820
Liked 42 Times on 38 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jubelale View Post
F2 and F3 } 0.3 and 10 is what mine are set at.
Cool, thanks. how often does your freezer cycle? What are you using for the hot side?
__________________
logdrum is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2012, 04:06 PM   #5
logdrum
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: North Olmsted, Ohio
Posts: 820
Liked 42 Times on 38 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nagorg View Post
I wouldn't think the freezer's thermostat setting would really matter much since the STC 1000 has taken it's place. I have mine set on the coldest setting I could assuming if it were too high, it might turn the compressor off before the STC 1000 cut power.
Ok, I see what you mean-at the temps I'm fermenting, I'm not sure the freezer's thermostat would ever override the STC's. I'm curious if changing the freezer's thermostat settings affects any other parameters.
__________________
logdrum is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2012, 04:30 PM   #6
raouliii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
raouliii's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 823
Liked 66 Times on 59 Posts
Likes Given: 112

Default

Just set it to its coldest setting. With an external controller, you want the internal thermostat contacts to ALWAYS be closed. This allows the external thermostat to have full control.

__________________
raouliii is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-22-2012, 03:02 PM   #7
jubelale
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 70
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I use a fridge and it cycles when it needs to. It cycles a lot but I am in Vegas and its in the garage. In the winter I just use a red light bulb on the hot side.

__________________
jubelale is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STC-1000 Temperature controller Plasse_D Equipment/Sanitation 19 01-28-2013 04:14 PM
Freezer Setting w/ A419 Control - Max., Min., Middle? mthelm85 Equipment/Sanitation 4 07-25-2011 06:24 AM
Johnson A419 controller - question about setting temp. shanecb Equipment/Sanitation 9 07-09-2011 04:32 PM
Setting temp controller temperature Schmidty Equipment/Sanitation 3 08-07-2009 04:56 AM
Does a chest freezer really need to be set at its coldest setting? Tankard Equipment/Sanitation 6 08-30-2008 03:36 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS