Yeast Starter for Belgian Strong Ale?

HomeBrewTalk.com - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Community.

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

nitsuj80

Reaction score
Mr. Malty is showing that I am going to need 290 billion yeast cells for the belgian strong ale that I am going to be brewing next week. According to the calculator it is showing that I will need a 1.75 liter starter with one smack pack since I will be using a stir plate. The OG of this strong ale is 1.081.

This is my first time doing a starter so let me get this straight. If I do a 1.75-2 liter starter, let it ferment for 24 hours, crash it in the fridge for 1 to 2 days, decant the beer off the top, and then pitch the slurry I should be good to go? I have also heard of guys adding some fresh wort and stirring before adding the slurry in order to get the yeast active again; is this necessary?

Thanks for the advice. This is only my second beer, first starter and I just want to make sure I am doing it right.

indigi

Reaction score
Let the starter go for 48 hours. It takes ~40 hours for the yeast to hit their peak growth numbers.

kanzimonson

Reaction score
Your procedure sounds great. If you can, it's nice to allow 48 hours, but usually 24-36 is enough. It's also strain-dependent... my English ale yeast usually finishes with a starter in 24 hours MAX.

I've never heard "40 hours til peak growth"... 24-36 hours is what you see repeated over and over. Not saying it's bad or good, but possibly unnecessary.

Homebrewtastic

Reaction score
If your strong ale contains simple sugars I would leave them out of my wort to start. Instead introduce the sugar mid fermentation while your beer is at high krausen. You won't need quite as large of a starter and you'll end up with better attenuation.

OP
N

nitsuj80

Reaction score
Thanks for the advice.