Yeast blending

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

petesgalaxy

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm looking at making a Saison, and adding two yeasts, a saison yeast and a champagne yeast to finish it off. My question is, can i blend them together on the stir plate and add them at the start, or add one then the other toward the end ? Thanks

That depends on what you're looking to achieve. Some saison yeasts will "finish it off" quite well. I've brewed quite a few that ended up 1.000-1.004. Are you making a very high gravity saison?

I'm not an expert by any means, but my opinion would be to add the champagne yeast later. Saison yeasts have a lot of character, and having both fermenting at the same time would (I think) lead to diminishing the saison character a bit. That said, it's your brew, so if you really want to try it, go for it!

Whatever your goal, definitely wait on the champagne yeast. The two that I am aware of (EC1118 and K1116) emit a protein that inhibits the growth of other yeast strains, so you would lose the saison character. Beyond this, like lowtones, my saisons have all finished in the 1.002-1.005 range.

I don't see the need for the champagne yeast. Most saison yeasts will finish very low on their own. Well into the 1.000-1.004 range like lowtone mentions. I can't see the campagne yeast doing anything moe when the brews finish that low just using the saison yeast.

The three that I use on a regular basis all finish in that range. Hell I think 3711 will ferment the spoon if you take too long stirring it in. Belle Saison is also a beast like 3711 and always finishes very low for me.. 3724 will also finish low but requires some good temperature control to do it.