what kit to buy

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pete2601

Reaction score
I am new to brewing i am used to drinking bud light type beer i am not into trying different beers yet. Can you please point me onto the right directions as far as which kits might suit me best?

A few places have Canadian Ale or Canadian Blond kits (Cooper's is one). That's somewhat of a light lager type brew, easier to brew than a true bud light clone.

I'm not sure if you plan is to buy locally, order from Canada, or order from the States.

first i want to try to make a beer that there is less risk of not liking.once i have done that then i want to try different types.

first i want to try to make a beer that there is less risk of not liking.once i have done that then i want to try different types.

The trouble with that approach is that American light adjunct lagers (like Bud Lite) are actually quite technical and generally require some advanced equipment. A cream ale or a blonde ale (which every homebrew shop on the net will sell you) might be the closest thing, but if you go in expecting something like you are used to I suspect you'll be pretty disappointed.

I think your best bet is to go out and buy a few different styles of beer. Go to a shop that let's you buy singles and pick up 12 different styles to see what you like. Make sure you're actually buying different styles of beer, rather than just 12 brands of the same thing. If you know a little bit about the diversity out there, I think you'll have better luck doing something you enjoy.

A few places have Canadian Ale or Canadian Blond kits (Cooper's is one). That's somewhat of a light lager type brew, easier to brew than a true bud light clone.