What Grain to purchase

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thunder001

Reaction score
I would like to purchase five 55 lbs sacks of grain from Northern Country Malt. Can some tell me which grains I should buy that will be a good mix for brewing most beers? I'm new to all grain and need help.

2 bags continental pils, 2 bags 2 row domestic, 1 bag munich.

buy all your specialties in small quantity.

Just my opinion based on the styles i like to brew. i think buying anything other than base grain in bulk is overkill unless you brew large batches very frequently.

Depends entirely on what you brew on a regular basis. 2-row for sure.

i wouldn't go for 5 bags, since freshness is a factor even in uncrushed grains. if i did, though, i'd go for 2 2-row, a pils, a wheat, and a munich ( i really like my wheat beers )

i wouldn't go for 5 bags, since freshness is a factor even in uncrushed grains. if i did, though, i'd go for 2 2-row, a pils, a wheat, and a munich ( i really like my wheat beers )

This is what I do - pils, wheat, Munich and two-row. I use a lb or two of wheat in all my beers, in addition to 'wheat' beers. And I've become a big fan of using Munich as a base malt - have used it in a stout and a red ale with very good results. I'm going to use Munich as the base malt in an APA.

For heaven's sake, don't ask us! We're not you; we don't use your brewery; we don't have access to your data. ;)

Look through your brewing logs and see what you use most. Do percentages. Then prioritize your bulk grains by those percentages. For example, if you use, on average, 80% pale malt/10% Crystal/10% wheat, there's your breakdown.