What does this mean?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Robsbrew

Reaction score
I know I am very new to brewing and have a few dumb or well maybe rookie questions. But when I see recipes, I see a list of description of the beer. But what does it all mean?

Size: 6.0 gal
Efficiency: 70%
Attenuation: 90%
Calories: 329.61 kcal per 12.0 fl oz

Original Gravity: 1.100 (1.026 - 1.120)
|====================#===========|
Terminal Gravity: 1.010 (0.995 - 1.035)
|==============#=================|
Color: 6.91 (1.0 - 50.0)
|=========#======================|
Alcohol: 11.97% (2.5% - 14.5%)
|====================#===========|
Bitterness: 51.8 (0.0 - 100.0)
|================#===============|

I took this off of a recipe on this site. I know somewhat what the gravity of the beer is but what is the rest? biterness and color? what kind of measure is this and how do you get it?

Color is just the color of the beer, no significance to the method you brew it (That I know of). Bitterness is measured on the International Bitterness Unit scale, the higher the number the more bitter the beer is and often this is a reflection of more hops being used. You can look up both of them on google rather easily. The gravity is the concentration of sugars in the water. OG is the measure you take after the boil, the Terminal, aka Final Gravity is the same thing. Your final gravity will be lower because the yeast eats the sugars and produces alcohol. Once you get into more advanced brewing OG plays a big role in how you brew but you're probably just using extract kits to begin with and you can't really screw up the OG. Measure your beer out of the fermenter after 10-12 days and once its at the target FG let it stay for another couple of days then bottle.