What do you think of this Irish Stout recipe?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

paranode

Reaction score
I took a recipe I found for a Guinness draught clone and modified it just a little (basically just the DME). Let me know what you think and if you have any suggestions. I'm not going for the extra stout taste and I am new to this so I may be off.

5 lb Munton's Dry Dark extract
1 lb Flaked Barley
1/2 lb Roasted Barley
1/4 lb Black Patent
1 oz Northern Brewer hops (60 mins)
1 tsp gypsum
WLP004 Irish Stout yeast

Now, I haven't done any grain stuff yet. I could steep some stuff but past that I am out of my knowledge area. How does this look and what exactly should I do with the flaked barley? It mentions sparging and I've read a little but I still don't understand how to do it in a regular extract brew.

Here is the original recipe:
http://hbd.org/brewery/cm3/recs/05_91.html

I recently did an Irish Stout and it is the best brew I have made yet. I would recommend you add some flavor and aroma hops, I used 1/2 oz of EK Goldings for 20 minutes and another 1/2 oz for 5 minutes. Other than that this looks good.

As far as the specialty grains, first get a grain sock to put the grains in for steeping (you might want to get 2 and split the grains evenly between them). Steep as follows:
-Heat 1.5 gallons of water to 150 deg. and then hold temp between 150 and 160 while steeping.
-Put grains (in the sock) into your stockpot and steep for 15-20 minutes. I usually dunk the grains a few times like a tea bag.