What do you gain when you adjust your water?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nilo

Reaction score
I'm new to water chemistry and have adjusted water for my last two batches.
I have soft water so I add some chloride, sultate, calcium and magnesium.
One thing I notice is the clatiry of my wort/beer.
I got a much better hot break and my beer looks amazingly clear after fermentation.
Would that be the added calcium?

Anyways, just wondering what improvements you guys noticed when you started adjusting your water.

I have very alkaline and hard water. I noticed early on that I just couldn't make a good kolsch or lighter beer with my water. There was some great flavor, but an underlying harshness that I couldn't shake. So I used RO water, and I found that I made some terrific lighter beers even back then.

Gradually, I started learning a bit about water chemistry and found that all of my beers improved. I'm still in "baby steps" about water, and I don't have my own RO system yet, but I'm eagerly learning and reading everything I can. Every beer style has improved since then.

I think that my whole problem is the high alkalinity of my tap water. Mixing it with RO and adding necessary salts (and following ajdelange's advice) allows me to get into the proper mash pH area easily and the results prove it. I still have a long ways to go to understand it, but I know it works!

Just to add to what Yooper said...

I've got extremely soft water like you, and the calcium made a night-and-day difference in my beer's clarity. Charlie Bamforth describes the mechanism on the BrewStrong episode on beer haze.