Wee heavy question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
My opinion, just use your bottles as the secondary. No real need to let it all age together off the trub unless you are force carbing it. It'll probably age faster in bottle too.

Two full packs may be an over-pitch, but I am not great with dry yeast.

Good luck. We love Wee Heavies around my house.

We love wee heavy also. I am new at this so I never thought of using the bottles for a secondary. I may go that route, saves another step. The two packs of yeast is recommended from Northern Brewer.

I am getting ready to brew up this Wee Heavy kit from Northern Brewer https://www.northernbrewer.com/products/scottish-wee-heavy-extract-kit

I know I am a few months away but will I need to add more yeast when I bottle this beer? I will be using 2 packs of Safale S-04. I plan on letting it sit in the primary for 1 month and using a secondary to let this age for 2 more months and then bottle.
That one looks really good. I'll have to try that.
I agree with above, go from primary into the bottle, maybe do three weeks, as an example. US-04 is a good one.

Nothing like muddy-ing the waters, but I'd do a secondary and cold crash it, not for two months but for at least a week. That's my modus operandi, though.

You'll likely have enough yeast left, the issue will be if the environment is too toxic (alcoholic) for them to function. There's no harm in adding yeast to your bottling bucket and it does remove one variable, I guess.

In either case, bottle conditioning may take longer than a 5% beer, like a month or two.