Water First or Grain First

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

afro_lou

Wait, what?
Reaction score
Ok, this may seem super basic, but I’m very new to BIAB. Last time I brewed (first time BIAB-ing), I heater my water to mash temps, then added my grains. This resulted in a ton a dough balls, and was kind of a pain to deal with. In addition, I may have been over zealous in my stirring with my stainless mash paddle, and may have contributed to my grain bag breaking during the mash (this was exacerbated by me running my recirc pump at full bore throughout the mash, pulling the grain bag through the coarse false bottom separating the bag from the electric element).
Anyway, what kind of differences could I expect by filling my bag with dry grains, then adding cold water, then heating and recirculating (SLOWLY) to mash temps and mashing as normal?

TIA, everyone!

I haven't had any issues adding grain to the strike water in the kettle. I use a 24" whip, rather than a paddle. It has no sharp points to snag the bag, and is much more efficient at breaking up dough balls than a paddle. I also use a Wilser bag made from polyester voile, which is much more robust than paint strainer bags, or other coarse mesh bags.

Brew on :mug:

I do the same thing as Doug: add the grains to water at strike temp, stirring in with a whip. I've never had a dough ball.

I grind my grain into a 5gal bucket, and use my overhead pulley to partially support the weight of the bucket so I can slowly tip the bucket with one hand while I whip with the other.