Water chemistry has broken me, please help!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MaCheFai

New to brew
Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm new to brewing and I've read through pages and pages, looked through numerous calculators, all of which seem as though some smart people went through great lengths to try and simplify water profiles for less smart people, like me. And even still, I'm not able make any sense of it all given the info I currently have. Frustration has finally set in, and I figured I'd try and ask for some help. Mainly because, I'm not sure if I have the correct info from my report to enter into calculators to determine my additions.

I would truly appreciate someones help in understanding:
1) Can I just plug the "Alkalinity, Bicarbonate" in as is? Or do I need to convert it?
2) For calcium, do I use the "Hardness, Calcium" or just "Calcium"?

Just having a tough time determining how many additions I would need in order to achieve the following profile based on my current water(see profile pics below). I'm also using 3.68 gallons of total water for a small batch.

Hoping to brew with this profile:
Ca = 100
Mg = 5
Na = 13
Sulfate = 147
Chloride = 80
Bicarbonate = 16
Mash pH = 5.37-5.42

Current water profile report:

water profile1.png

water profile2.png

... seem as though some smart people went through great lengths to try and simplify water profiles for less smart people, like me.
Yes, that's exactly what happened. Back in Oct 08 I gave a water chemistry class for BURP (DC area club) and said to myself "I'll just pit all this math into a simple Excel spreadsheet for the guys and they'll be doing calcuations with ease. That spreadsheet is now 51 x 188 cells on the first sheet and 24 x 127 on the second. But it does nearly everything.