Want to move to 5 Gallon Batches

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dchalladay

Reaction score
Hey Everyone!

I am still fairly new to the whole beer making scene. My first few 1 gallon batches turned out very well and now I feel as if I am ready to move to the 5 gallon batches. One of the main reasons is because I will get more bang for my buck and I have found a few recipes that I love and want to do larger batches of.

Here is my dilemma. I have no idea how to move forward with this. I have been making my beer on an electric range in a 5 gallon (i think) pot. My brother who brews cider said I will likely need to move to a gas burner to get this really moving along. I don't really know anything in regards to what type of hardware I need to get this going. :confused: Does anyone have any recommendations as to what I need to buy/should buy/etc. I would like to try to stay under $300 ish if at all possible. Saving up for a wedding!:mug:

I used a bayou classic burner for years. It will definitely get your started as far as that goes. Do you have a local homebrew store? They'll have a larger pot. Generally if you're boiling you'll want like 30% extra space. In other words, 8ish gallon pot to boil a 5 gallon batch.---that's kind of a minimum because you're going to have over 6 at the start of the boil.

You could do partial boil in what you have but that's a whole other set of stuff to think about. The other thing is cooling the wort.

Are you doing all grain or extract? BIAB? All these methods change what you absolutely need. Have you decided on which method you will be moving forward with?