Vodka Tincture Recipes for Cider

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AnnaH

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am a total newbie to both brewing and this forum. A friend and I are making cider for the first time and I wanted some advice on vodka tinctures. We've got two, 5-gallon carboys fermenting. One we're going to leave alone, the other we're fermenting with some brown sugar. For the latter, we want to add some spices for flavoring during bottling.

I've been scouring the internet looking for a vodka tincture recipe that would work and am getting all different kinds of conflicting info about what spices to use, how much vodka to use, etc.. I definitely want something with cinnamon, I've been looking up some chai spice recipes that look promising. We're going to be using ground spices (I know, I know) because time wouldn't allow for us to make a tincture out of whole spices.

My question: would any of you who have successfully done this before be willing to share your tincture recipes with me, measurements and all? We're hoping that this will be a decent winter cider.

Mulling spices . Just be cautious of how much . It goes a long way. Ive only done cider once and I used cinnamon, anise, clove and orange peel . I just put the spices in a muslin bag after I boiled it and tossed it in the cider . Left it for a week or so then bottled .