Quantcast

[Version 2 Release] RaspberryPints - Digital Taplist Solution

HomeBrewTalk.com - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Community.

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

beerNbikes

Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Hah! "the old 17" 4:3" is exactly what I've used for years :D
Cheers!
Looks awesome, what resolution is that running? My LG only has 1280 x 1024, and I'm not getting the scaling I would like to keep the 4 taps on screen. I have a feeling that this is also something to do with the Pi's resolution which altered somewhat after the initial install.
 

day_trippr

Bastard-covered bastard with bastard filling
Joined
May 31, 2011
Messages
33,079
Reaction score
14,093
Location
Stow, MA
That ol' girl is topped out at XGA/1024x768. I can't even remember how old it is but it's pretty much a relic at this point :)

Cheers!
 

beerNbikes

Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
OK, got it sorted, was a bit of the old Pi settings having been altered at some point. I think that was during the install of Rpints. in the end, I changed the /boot/config.txt and forced a HDMI mode that worked for my existing display.

I located the Pi page for video settings here: Video options in config.txt - Raspberry Pi Documentation

My monitor, as above supports 1280 x 1024, so that was

hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=35

I also rotated it to get back to my previous display config.

display_rotate=1

I'm going to play with the beer name text, because it's a bit small on my monitor, but everything else is looking the goods.

Thanks for posting your setup, the pictures speak a thousand words as they say.
 

RandR+

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2015
Messages
574
Reaction score
182
FYI I just committed a change that adds a calibrate button on the tap list for those that use flowmeters that allow you to enter the amount of the last pour and it will update the count per gallon/liter. really only useful when starting up or changing flowmeters but removes manual math
1598291159493.png
 

beerNbikes

Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Thanks RandR+, if/when I reinstall, these last few commits are going to make it a piece of Pi. I found something else whilst I was fiddling, the shutdown and reboot buttons are reversed on my install. As in, if I click shutdown, it reboots, and if I click reboot it shuts down. Originally I thought there was something wrong with my Pi not being able to cleanly reboot, but then I went to shut it down another time and it rebooted.
Cheers!
 

RandR+

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2015
Messages
574
Reaction score
182
the shutdown and reboot buttons are reversed on my install.
Right you are, I just committed the fix. Rerun the installer and hit upgrade or go to the admin install page, I have a Get Latest RPints button there that will update from GitHub, though the button is newer it should work. either option you choose make sure you manually backup first
 

duncan.brown

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
301
Reaction score
211
Location
Syracuse
@RandR+ it looks like I'm hitting a memory error viewing my temperature probe logs. PHP exits with the error
Code:
[Mon Sep 07 15:38:27.965902 2020] [php7:error] [pid 3534] [client 10.0.1.10:52770] PHP Fatal error:  Allowed memory size of 134217728 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 16785408 bytes) in /var/www/html/admin/includes/managers/manager.php on line 157, referer: http://10.0.1.31/admin/admin.php
but I don't understand as the memory it's trying to allocate is less than what PHP is allowed.

Have you seen this before? I'll poke around some more and see if I can figure it out.
 

theglobalguy

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2013
Messages
13
Reaction score
1
Folks, long time lurker and reader of this thread...I just finished my build yesterday, and thanks to RandR+'s version and the install script on rpints.com, this couldn't have been much easier. Once I got my layer 1 wires sorted out, it just worked...mostly!

I did notice one issue with the script; when I told it to install the PiR sensor packages, I noticed that it threw an abort message and then skipped ahead. Looking at the logs, it seems that it failed on the apt-get xscreensaver line, and that package wasn't installed. (This is on a fresh install of the Raspberry Pi OS on a 4 gb Pi 4). It was easy enough to figure out how to install the missing commands by examining the install script, and within a few minutes it was running properly. I did try it a couple of times from scratch, and the same result happened each time.

I did work my way through all 165 pages of this thread...took several days, but it's really impressive to see the polish that's come into the product, especially over the past year. Thanks to everyone who has contributed code, time, and expertise to making this a really satisfying project. If there was a pot of cash, patreon, paypal, etc that I could throw a few six packs worth of $$ into, I'd be more than happy to do so.

I think I read something back in the 2017 days about having a way to change glass shapes in the SRM column...before I go back and find it again, can someone comment if that ever made it into the R+R code?

Thanks again!
 

RandR+

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2015
Messages
574
Reaction score
182
it seems that it failed on the apt-get xscreensaver line, and that package wasn't installed
I will look into that

glass shapes in the SRM column
Yes there is an option to show SRM images (like beer smiths) or have RPints draw a pint with the SRM color.
Show SRM Image:
on mean show the actual pint image off means draw the pint
 

garzlok

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
288
Reaction score
156
Location
Dacula
I think I read something back in the 2017 days about having a way to change glass shapes in the SRM column...before I go back and find it again, can someone comment if that ever made it into the R+R code?
Hmm, I don’t recall that, but do you mean instead of displaying the SRM in a pint glass, display the SRM in a tulip?
 

theglobalguy

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2013
Messages
13
Reaction score
1
Hmm, I don’t recall that, but do you mean instead of displaying the SRM in a pint glass, display the SRM in a tulip?
Yeah, that's what I'm talking about...R+R, I did find that switch and it's great, but a nice to have feature would be to have it as your choice of glassware. It looks like someone called "yogensha" did make a stripped version back in 2017 (Post 2479 in this thread) that contained some code for that, but I don't think it was ever picked up by any of the current branches:


I haven't read through that code yet to see if it actually does what I'm hoping, so take that 10 minute of research at the office with a grain of salt.
 

RandR+

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2015
Messages
574
Reaction score
182
memory error
im going to need more information:
How many total rows do you have?
How many probes do you have?
Is this whenever you go to the page or only if you filter it a certain way?
Are you looking at a different page number than 1?
 

duncan.brown

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
301
Reaction score
211
Location
Syracuse
How many total rows do you have?
Code:
MariaDB [raspberrypints]> select count(*) from tempLog;
+----------+
| count(*) |
+----------+
|  2421189 |
+----------+
1 row in set (3.050 sec)
How many probes do you have?
Code:
MariaDB [raspberrypints]> select count(*) from tempProbes;
+----------+
| count(*) |
+----------+
|        2 |
+----------+
1 row in set (0.001 sec)
Is this whenever you go to the page or only if you filter it a certain way?
This is when I visit http://10.0.1.31/admin/temp_log.php

I'm not doing any filtering. Just tried again, and I get
Code:
[Wed Sep 09 17:53:37.312648 2020] [php7:error] [pid 652] [client 10.0.1.10:59518] PHP Fatal error:  Allowed memory size of 134217728 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 16785408 bytes) in /var/www/html/admin/includes/managers/manager.php on line 157, referer: http://10.0.1.31/admin/admin.php
Are you looking at a different page number than 1?
Nope.

The exact code I'm running is slightly different to your master, but the changes are only stylistic:

I just did sudo mysql -u root -p -D raspberrypints -s -L < /var/www/html/sql/update.sql to check that my database is up to date, but that didn't fix the error.

Thanks for looking into this.
 

awoitte

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
182
Reaction score
20
An easy way to install RaspberryPints is using my script by running the following through the terminal on the pi
curl -L https://raw.githubusercontent.com/rtlindne/RaspberryPints/master/util/installRaspberryPints | sudo bash

It will prompt which version you want to use (mine, Tobor's, or the original which doesn't work on the latest raspbian) along with other options that deal with installing
I somehow managed to get this running without really knowing how to run a script LOL.

I set my orientation to vertical for when I get a dedicated screen, but would like to switch it back to a standard wide-screen so I can customize while on my computer monitor.

Is there a way to do this in the interface?

Cheers,
 
Last edited:

RandR+

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2015
Messages
574
Reaction score
182
a nice to have feature would be to have it as your choice of glassware.
Big shout out to @garzlok for generating very nice images to use for the glassware

I just committed the changes to allow you to select the glassware for each beer, defaults to standard pint.

To get the new images you need to turn "Show SRM Image Instead Of Calculated Color" off

1599830593258.png


An example of the new glassware
1599830687990.png



Also update the bottle image and the keg images.
1599830783537.png

Now corny kegs will have images that look like them

1599830757187.png
 

Attachments

theglobalguy

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2013
Messages
13
Reaction score
1
That is a fantastic update...again, thanks so much. Now I've just gotta spend a few minutes googling the proper names of some of the glassware. The only slight issue I've noticed is that the list of glassware shows up twice.

1599836673992.png
 

RandR+

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2015
Messages
574
Reaction score
182
glassware shows up twice.
did you start fresh or just update an existing RPints?

luckily that's just a database issue,
if you do run these commands from the terminal it will clean up (assuming database name is raspberrypints
sudo mysql
use raspberrypints
Delete from containerTypes where id > 13;
 

theglobalguy

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2013
Messages
13
Reaction score
1
I used the update button in the admin panel...I hit the one to check for updates, and then also hit the one that said "update". Not sure if those duplicate functionality, but yeah, super easy to fix. I was going to use phpadmin to do it, but you just showed me a more efficient method...thanks!
 

garzlok

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
288
Reaction score
156
Location
Dacula
It was a fun project and really started learning the true power of vectored images!

Can’t wait to get home and get your RPints update on the Pi!
 

RandR+

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2015
Messages
574
Reaction score
182
but I don't understand as the memory it's trying to allocate is less than what PHP is allowed.

Have you seen this before? I'll poke around some more and see if I can figure it out.
figured it out, I was fetching all rows instead of just counting them.

The fix is committed if you get latest
 

Gengasi

Member
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
24
Reaction score
6
Hello guys. I am having a little trouble updating the Rpints. As far as I know this could be done using "Get latest Rpints" under the install page? Also I am having an issue where my metric units gets reset back to gallons etc after a reset. Thanks guys! :)
 

RandR+

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2015
Messages
574
Reaction score
182
As far as I know this could be done using "Get latest Rpints" under the install page?
I found a permission problem with the script that is blocking the update.
If you run the following from the terminal on the pi the get latest button will work (and should continue to work after that)
sudo chmod +x /var/www/html/util/installRaspberryPints

metric units gets reset back to gallons etc after a reset.
Is this display or do your values on a specifc tap get messed up? I checked my update.sql and dont see where it would update units unless they are null which could be that some are inserted as null
 

Gengasi

Member
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
24
Reaction score
6
I found a permission problem with the script that is blocking the update.
If you run the following from the terminal on the pi the get latest button will work (and should continue to work after that)
sudo chmod +x /var/www/html/util/installRaspberryPints


Is this display or do your values on a specifc tap get messed up? I checked my update.sql and dont see where it would update units unless they are null which could be that some are inserted as null
When the units change it doesn't change the value. After reboot the remaining value on the keg gets changed from let's say 5 liters to 5 gallons. When I change back to litres it converts to 18.9litres.
 

duncan.brown

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
301
Reaction score
211
Location
Syracuse
@RandR+ is there a typo here?


I think it should be abvSvg.php Same in includes/beerListTableVerticle.php

I'm also seeing undefined offset errors in my apache log:
Code:
[Wed Sep 16 15:41:39.230298 2020] [php7:notice] [pid 1468] [client 10.0.1.20:62669] PHP Notice:  Undefined index: rgb in /var/www/html/img/abv/abvSvg.php on line 7, referer: http://10.0.1.31/
[Wed Sep 16 15:41:39.230541 2020] [php7:notice] [pid 1468] [client 10.0.1.20:62669] PHP Notice:  Undefined offset: 1 in /var/www/html/img/abv/abvSvg.php on line 9, referer: http://10.0.1.31/
[Wed Sep 16 15:41:39.230575 2020] [php7:notice] [pid 1468] [client 10.0.1.20:62669] PHP Notice:  Undefined offset: 2 in /var/www/html/img/abv/abvSvg.php on line 10, referer: http://10.0.1.31/
[Wed Sep 16 15:41:39.230890 2020] [php7:notice] [pid 1468] [client 10.0.1.20:62669] PHP Notice:  Undefined index: rgb in /var/www/html/img/abv/abvSvg.php on line 33, referer: http://10.0.1.31/
[Wed Sep 16 15:41:39.231003 2020] [php7:notice] [pid 1468] [client 10.0.1.20:62669] PHP Notice:  Undefined index: rgb in /var/www/html/img/abv/abvSvg.php on line 38, referer: http://10.0.1.31/
[Wed Sep 16 15:41:39.231034 2020] [php7:notice] [pid 1468] [client 10.0.1.20:62669] PHP Notice:  Undefined index: rgb in /var/www/html/img/abv/abvSvg.php on line 43, referer: http://10.0.1.31/
[Wed Sep 16 15:41:39.232066 2020] [php7:notice] [pid 1397] [client 10.0.1.20:62717] PHP Notice:  Undefined index: rgb in /var/www/html/img/keg/kegSvg.php on line 7, referer: http://10.0.1.31/
 

duncan.brown

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
301
Reaction score
211
Location
Syracuse
figured it out, I was fetching all rows instead of just counting them.
I think there may be another instance of this. When I first load the main index.php, it takes forever to load. It looks like it's stalled on a similar temperature query:

Code:
| 2800 | RaspberryPints | localhost | raspberrypints | Query   |   13 | Sending data             | SELECT temp, tempUnit, COALESCE(NULLIF(p.notes,''), tl.probe) AS probe, takenDate AS takenDate FROM tempLog tl LEFT JOIN tempProbes p ON (tl.probe = p.name) WHERE takenDate = (SELECT MAX(takenDate) FROM tempLog) | 13780.691 |     0 |         0 |    0.000 |      348112 |          348112 |       2846653 |    14028 | SELECT temp, tempUnit, COALESCE(NULLIF(p.notes,''), tl.probe) AS probe, takenDate AS takenDate FROM tempLog tl LEFT JOIN tempProbes p ON (tl.probe = p.name) WHERE takenDate = (SELECT MAX(takenDate) FROM tempLog) | 1113 |
 

duncan.brown

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
301
Reaction score
211
Location
Syracuse
Yep should be abv, use too much agv in my job.

also fixed those errors
Thanks, I no longer get the error from the bad file name, but I'm still seeing
Code:
[Wed Sep 16 17:12:59.049404 2020] [php7:notice] [pid 2107] [client 10.0.1.20:55460] PHP Notice:  Undefined index: rgb in /var/www/html/img/abv/abvSvg.php on line 35, referer: http://10.0.1.31/
[Wed Sep 16 17:12:59.049983 2020] [php7:notice] [pid 2107] [client 10.0.1.20:55460] PHP Notice:  Undefined index: rgb in /var/www/html/img/abv/abvSvg.php on line 40, referer: http://10.0.1.31/
[Wed Sep 16 17:12:59.050263 2020] [php7:notice] [pid 2107] [client 10.0.1.20:55460] PHP Notice:  Undefined index: rgb in /var/www/html/img/abv/abvSvg.php on line 45, referer: http://10.0.1.31/
My ABV images also look odd. My lower ABV beer now has more of its pint filled in than the higher ABV beer. It may also be related, but I set Stein and Tulip for these beers, but it's just drawing pint glasses.

Screen Shot 2020-09-16 at 5.15.35 PM.png


Screen Shot 2020-09-16 at 5.15.39 PM.png
 

RandR+

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2015
Messages
574
Reaction score
182
My lower ABV beer now has more of its pint filled in than the higher ABV beer.
I will look over this and see whats up with it

It may also be related, but I set Stein and Tulip for these beers, but it's just drawing pint glasses.
One thing I didn't do I make the ABV match the glassware, only the SRM images do. I will work to update the ABV to match the SRM so that its consistent but it may be a few days before I can finish that
 

RandR+

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2015
Messages
574
Reaction score
182
When I first load the main index.php, it takes forever to load. It looks like it's stalled on a similar temperature query:
Similar but not the same, it doesn't load all the temps into memory, just the latest. I switch to a faster query so hopefully that removes the lag you are seeing if you get latest
 
Top