Using Tap water

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
The short answer is it depends on the quality of your tap water. I would definitely filter out the chlorine. Its probably fine. I use mine for AG.

I'm VERY new at this but from what I have read you could boil the water beforehand to evaporate the chlorine and then let it cool off to whatever temp you need.

Anyone please chime in if I an incorrect on this! :mug:

Definitely depends on your water. I can't stand my tap water for drinking, so I buy bottled water for brewing. Provided you know the water chemistry and you don't mind the taste of it, you should be good to go provided you treat it to remove chlorine/chloramines.

Chlorine will boil off, I think it chloramine that is a little more stable and will stick around through a boil, that's where a carbon block filter is nice. I use an under sink filter from the hardware store...I think around $30-$40 and the filter cartridge is good for up to 6 months.

how does your water taste? my water here at my house tastes awful. i refuse to drink it. ever going through a filter it still is quite nasty.

My water taste good, what if there are chlororamines left over? affect taste? Yeast?

My water taste good, what if there are chlororamines left over? affect taste? Yeast?