Unhoppy IIPA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

davel57

Reaction score
I'm pretty new at this. I just bottled my first IIPA, and the bitterness seems way less than expected and I'm trying to figure out what went wrong. The calculations say 77 bitterness which seems like plenty.

2 GALLON BATCH, QBrew says SG 1.077, Bitterness 77, color 17

3.3 lb - Briess LME Golden Light
1.0 lb - Crystal 20L
.25 bl - Crystal 80L
1 oz - Carafa III

0.5 oz - Columbus (14.4%) - 60 min.
0.25 Citra (12.3) - 20 min
0.5 Citra - 0 min at flameout, after LME
0.5 Citra Dry Hop - Add at 7 days, remove at 14

WLP007 yeast

Grains were steeped until shortly before boil
Half of LME added at start of boil, half at flameout

Hops boiled in muslin bag, bag left in fermenter 1st 7 days. At that point, beer tasted of hops, though not super bitter. Added dry hops, after 7 more days, beer tasted heavily of grapefruit but lacking any other hop flavor or bitterness. I won't know the final result for a few weeks.

One possible problem - Boil was really just barely a simmer for much of the time. Would that make a big difference? I mean we're only talking the difference between 211 and 212 degrees, right? Also, should I give up on the hop sack and just put the hops in directly?