Total Newbie

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Evets

Reaction score
Hi Folks!, I'm Ev
I'm here because I love beer.
I don't know the first thing about brewing, but I'm ready to get started. So, what's the best way to start? A kit, I suppose? Which one? The best first recipe? Please help me get started.

I started with http://www.howtobrew.com/intro.html which is a link to a complete book online by John Palmer. It is a great start, and lays it all out for you. I read it a couple times before putting any malt to water, and was better for it. I even used the recipe in the starting out section, and it came out great. You can get going with a kit for around 50-75 bucks, and you will also need a pot to be able to boil. I bought a cheap 16QT pot, and I do partial boils, but I am working on a full boiler right now for spring. Aside from that, I would start with extract with some specialty grains, maybe- Like I said, I did the recipe right in Palmer's book and was pleased, both with the instructions and the results.
you can get kits from most Home Brew Supply/Shops. If you have access to a shop, they are normally a great place to get some face to face advice as well.

Welcome aboard!

Welcome aboard, Evets! I'm with Truble. Started out by first reading J Palmer's site over several time (at least the first few sections) before ever picking up my first piece of equipment.

Read up, (re)search liberally, and ask questions :)

Hi and Welcome to the Forums.
I am pretty new too and I would echo the advice to read the Palmer book, read the Forums and ask questions. I'm hooked on this hobby. If you have a local homebrew shop be sure to check out their stuff.