Thinking about customizing an extract batch. Please help! Opinions welcome!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

S2005

Reaction score
So, I'm still brand new. I haven't even bottled my first batch (though it is fermenting in my Mr. Beer as I type this).

I have been reading a ton on this forum, and I want to order some carboys/better bottles and get started on a 5 gallon batch of something... well, something different!

I love strange new beers. Every time my wife and I go out to eat, I look for strange things that I've never tried before. A local grocery store just started a "pick your own 6 pack" and I'm a big fan.

Now I want to create.

I don't just want to buy a DME or LME and toss it in a bucket with yeast and call it a day. I want to customize a little.

I like Sam Adams Cherry Stout, Sweetwater Blue, and a few other flavored "fruity" beers. I'd love to try to make one!

Is it as simple as buying the LME/DME and then mixing the fruit puree with it and the yeast?

I understand I need a primary, and secondary so I'm putting together a small list of things I need to buy.

Ok, so the shopping list thus far is:

Auto-siphon $9.95
5 Gallon Plastic Carboy $24.00
Carboy Handle $5.50
Carboy Lid $2.75
2 Foodgrade Bucket Lids $3.90
Fermometer $3.50
2 US-05 Yeast Packs $5.98 ($2.99ea)
Blueberry Flavoring $4.95
American Wheat Extract $25.75

Totaling $86.28

I already own a few items, I listed here in this thread.

I also need to figure out what goes good together...

Would a Blueberry Wheat beer be good?

If I were to buy THIS and then puree some blueberries into the fermentor, would they work well together? How many pounds of blueberries would be sufficient?