The Age Old Question.............

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

theguy

Reaction score
I am fairly new at hombrewing and have (so far) only made beer from the "brewer best" kits. While these kits are great for learning the process of brewing a batch, they seem seem to lack creativity. This brings me to my question. How do you come up with (or decide on) the next batch of beer you will make? Do you start with a recipe kit (brewers best or similar) and adjust? I am currently brewing my 4th batch (German Oktoberfest) and really want to try something a little different and wanted to get some ideas on how to "take the next step". Cheers in advance! :mug:

I started with the Brewer's Best kits, but then started buying kits from austinhomebrew.com and northernbrewer.com. I wanted to make "clone" kits and other styles I couldn't find in the Brewer's Best kits. I liked everything I made, so I kept on by finding recipes online and asking for a critique here. Then, I bought some brewing software and started making my own recipes.

I would say that if you're getting bored with the Brewer's Best kits, then try finding a recipe online (we have a nice database) and then ask for some help formulating it to your taste. I like to pick a style, and then look at recipes for that style.

For my 2nd brew I'm doing a somewhat home-made recipe; I found a bunch of recipes for the style I liked and then picked out the elements I thought were good from each one, then threw my ideas into The Beer Recipator - Home (free recipe design tool) and tweaked until the IBUs/OG/color/etc were right for the style.