Splitting a 10 gallon batch

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jdbrew14

Reaction score
Hi all I'm new to brewing and have a question for you. I have done a few 5 gallon kit batches and have decided to give all grain brewing a shot. I built a mash tun and would like to do my first mash of a 10 gallon batch. Problem is I only have a 9 gallon kettle. I have enough buckets and carboys to ferment 10 gallons in. Can I split the wort in half and boil it into two 5 gallon batches and add half the hops to each batch? Thanks in advance.

-jdbrew14

I don't see why not, although someone may chime in with a chemistry issue. I switched to 10 gallons too (although my kettle has room), makes a lot of sense considering the brewing time is almost the same - but the drinking time is much longer.

I guess it all depends on how you are sparging. As you're sparging the first and last running are going to have different gravity.

Really I don't think you are saving much time doing 1 10g batch vs 2 5g batches.
I'm assuming that you are going to boil 2 batches but mash one.

If you have a large enough vessel to hold 12-14g of wort, then by all means mash/sparge it all at once.

If not,
You could mash/sparge your second batch while the first is boiling.

I do something similar. But I'm set up for 5 gallon mashes. I brew back to back 5 gallon batches and split a yeast starter between them. But I brew different beers. I have a Vienna and a Dort fermenting now.

I agree with suckmyale, if you do one 10 gallon mash, the wort drained for the first 5 gallon batch will have a higher OG than the wort drained for the second 5 gallon batch. Maybe a recirculating mash pump could fix that problem, though.