Sour time!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dadux

Reaction score
Hey there!
So im somewhat new to beer brewing and i still have many many things i want to try so im not in a hurry but lately i tried a few sour beers that really hitted a spot, and as it usually happens now i want to know how to make smething similar. Making a stout or an IPA seems rather straightforward but sours seem to be a whole new world.

I have been mostly looking on kettle souring ecause i dont want to take more than a couple months in making this. The process does not look too complicated but i still have a bunch of questions.

- Is there a recommended strain for this? Even so im not a big fan of liquid yeast (expensive, low storage time...) but i dont mind running a culture from whatever, or even isolating some wild strains. I dont want anything that comes from yoghurt but i dont know if other things work decently. Obviously lacto is my first choice but i dunno if pedio works for this too. Buying liquid yeast is doable so if this is the best choice just say so

-How are you supposed to know when to pasteurize/pitch yeast? I was thinking to do a side-fermentation of 1-2 liters (final volume of the beer 14l) of wort and let the lactobacillus have its way. When the sugars run out, brew the rest of the wort and mix. I dont know if this would work or anyone has a clue...

-I've seen a lot of things about not adding IBUs at the start but are you supposed to do it after souring? or this does not yield good results? better to skip the whole hops things or dry hop later? I was thinking on fermenting with M15 yeast (its supposed to leave some maltiness and produce dark fruit esters) and leave it totally/relativly hop-less ;)