Sour taste and smell

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ibanezgfx

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new to brewing and have done a few small 1 gallon batches.
My first was the Brooklyn Brew Shop Everyday IPA kit. Turned out well, slightly overcarbed, kind of gave me plastic tasting burps (tap water).

My second kit was Northern Brewer Smashing Pumpkin where I used real pumpkin per their suggestion. Turned out tastey but had a sour off smell. Very under carbonated and took a while to get carbed.

Next was Northern Brewers Brickwarmer Red. I messed something up and got a Banana flavor/smell.

Finally, just finished the Northern Brewer Dead Ringer IPA and it came out with the same off sour (?) smell and taste to it. Also undercarbed.

The common factors of the pumpkin and dead ringer are
1) Fermenters Favorite Fizz Drops (will never use again)
2) Cold Crashed 1 gal carboy in fridge taking airlock out and covering with aluminum foil
3) Rehydrated yeast prior to pitching

Sour is the best way I can describe the taste and smell. Just want to know what it could be that I'm doing wrong to try and avoid in the future. I just did my first 5 gallon that is currently fermenting and going to avoid the cold crash and fizz drops. Any advise?

Thanks!
Adam

You did not mention your sanitation conditions/habits or your fermentation temps during active fermentation..Both of these could contribute to the problems you mention.

Another one is water..are you just using your tap water? If so, try using store bought spring water or distilled water next time around. Tap water in alot of places can cause the off flavors if not conditioned prior to brewing with it.

Just some initial thoughts as I read this and I am sure others will chime in.