Single 10 gal batch...split into Centennial Blonde and Bourbon Barrel Porter

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all. This is my first time posting on this site, though I've enjoyed its content for over a year now. I've been brewing for a little over a year and have routinely come here to get all my questions quickly answered so thanks to everyone!

So, I tried something a little out of the box on a recent batch and I said to myself, "If this works, it'll have to be my first post." So there you have it. My idea came from the fact that my pipeline was pretty bare and I was wondering if I could figure out a way to make two totally different beers off of the same batch. Somewhere on this forum, someone suggested using steeping grains to create two different styles, so I starting thinking about what might work. Also to provide some background, I do all grain brewing with the usual setup...10 gal brew pot, standard igloo cooler mash tun, single infusion with batch sparge.

What really made this work was that my first beer is a very basic Centennial Blonde...thanks go to Biermuncher for that recipe btw. That recipe, while fantastic, is basic enough, that it works as the backbone to a porter as well. So, by using half of my wort for a slightly modified (and beefed up...b/c I'm not really going to brew a 4% beer....sorry just not me at this point) CB batch, and then the other half, with a little separate mini mash added down the line, I ended up with what I wanted. Here's specifically what I did:

Started with my basic grain list:

- 19 lb 2 row
- 1.25 lb Carapils
- 1 lb Vienna Malt
- 1 lb Crystal 10
- This was based on 72% efficiency