Sanitation Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

red1992v6rs

Reaction score
This is my first time kegging. I just transferred my beer from my carboy last night and was going to blanket it with co2 while it went down to the correct temperature. As I was watching YouTube videos to refresh the steps to force carbonate tonight, I realized I may have sanitized my keg incorrectly. I filled the keg up about half way with sanitizer and shook it for a few minutes and dumped it. I didn't hook the co2 up and run the sanitizer through the outlet stem. Is it a big deal that I haven't done this? Is there anything I could or should do going further?

Thanks,
Ryan

This is my first time kegging. I just transferred my beer from my carboy last night and was going to blanket it with co2 while it went down to the correct temperature. As I was watching YouTube videos to refresh the steps to force carbonate tonight, I realized I may have sanitized my keg incorrectly. I filled the keg up about half way with sanitizer and shook it for a few minutes and dumped it. I didn't hook the co2 up and run the sanitizer through the outlet stem. Is it a big deal that I haven't done this? Is there anything I could or should do going further?

Thanks,
Ryan
If your dip tube/outlets/posts were dirty, it could be a problem. If the beer is already in there, there is not much you are going to do about it now. If all the parts were already good and clean, chances are you could be ok.